MySpace Teacher Imposter

[Replies: 1]
Someone help me!

I am a teacher living near the New Orleans area and apparently, one of my students has created an impostor profile making the claims that I have done some horrific things with minors. I have contacted MySpace practically begging them to delete the account. I have filed a complaint with the FBI, but I do not know what good that will do! I have also contacted the local authorities, but also to no avail. I am clueless as to what I can do and quite frankly terrified because this ultimately can ruin my career. The url of this site is http://www.myspace.com/280882413
The content of this site should automatically tell you that it was created for malicious intent.

Can someone help me please! Also, is there a way of finding out who created this impostor site because if I can, I plan to press charges for libel!

Most importantly, someone PLEASE help me!!!
Last Post Dec 14, 2007 4:55 PM by: Maureen
Maureen
Posts: 667
Registered: 6/13/07
(2 of 2)

Re: MySpace Teacher Imposter

Dec 14, 2007 4:55 PM
Hi, The profile has been removed.

Due to privacy laws, MySpace can't release info about the imposter without a court order. You'll have to speak to a lawyer for advice on how to go about that. (You may want to talk to someone at your teachers' union or a school administrator for advice on seeking legal help.)

All the best,

Maureen

~
Maureen Kochan
ConnectSafely forum manager
saddened teacher
Posts: 2
From: Metairie Louisiana
Registered: 12/10/07
(1 of 2)

MySpace Teacher Imposter

Dec 10, 2007 9:21 PM
Someone help me!

I am a teacher living near the New Orleans area and apparently, one of my students has created an impostor profile making the claims that I have done some horrific things with minors. I have contacted MySpace practically begging them to delete the account. I have filed a complaint with the FBI, but I do not know what good that will do! I have also contacted the local authorities, but also to no avail. I am clueless as to what I can do and quite frankly terrified because this ultimately can ruin my career. The url of this site is http://www.myspace.com/280882413
The content of this site should automatically tell you that it was created for malicious intent.

Can someone help me please! Also, is there a way of finding out who created this impostor site because if I can, I plan to press charges for libel!

Most importantly, someone PLEASE help me!!!